January 2023 Faves

For 2023, I want to make a list of things I enjoyed every month.

READING

The Tragedy of Homosexuality by Jane Ward.

I became interested in this book after I saw a quote from it on Tumblr. I was expecting white lesbian feminist theory drenched in sarcasm, but what I got instead was a sincere look at the inherently discordant nature of heterosexuality and its affects on heterosexual women that explored Black and other POC voices on the issue. It made me angry, sad, amused, and, yes, empathetic to the plight of heterosexuals. I definitely wouldn't say I agreed with everything Ward asserted here, but it made me consider things in a different light. This was one of my favorite January reads.

Jinx by Mingwa

I enjoyed Mingwa's other work, BJ Alex fan, but I didn't hear about Jinx until The Discourse™ surrounding it reached my neck of the web. To the mob's credit, this story is just as fucked up and toxic as they say. I'm enjoying it so far. The art is gorgeous (as expected), Dan is the embodiment of whump, and Jaekyung and his cauliflower ear have me tuning in every update.

WATCHING

Bad and Crazy (2021)

A friendly actually recommended this show to me back in 2021 when it was airing, but in true THOTCRIMES fashion I forgot about it crossed my Netflix feed. I loved this show. My fiancee and I had to impose a 3-episode limit every night otherwsie we'd watch the whole thing in one sitting (on a weeknight!) I wasn't totally satisfied by the ending, but it made sense to me. I'd love to have this as a Blu-ray, but I doubt it'll get one. #RIP

Bullet Train (2022)

This one's a bit of a cheat since I technically watched it late last night (the 31st, going into the 1st), but it deserves a spot on the list. I saw the trailer for Bullet Train ages ago and it hooked me instantly. But, just like with Bad and Crazy, I kept putting it off/forgetting because, well, my brain's bad. I'm really kicking myself now. This would have been a great movie to see in theaters. I will be buying the Blu-ray for this!

ON REPEAT




January 2023 Wrap-Up

NEO CITY: THE LINK

After missing out on the Link tour in Los Angeles and Newark, my fiancee and I finally got the chance to see NCT 127 on their added Houston date. Of course, this meant we had to go to Houston, but some things are worth suffering for.

PROJECTS

BOOKBINDING

Talk about any bookbinding I did/started in January 2023 & other stuff I'm diong.

OWN YOUR FANDOM

Working on my Own Your Fandom mini-manifesto. I'm not used to writing to an audience anymore and my inner editor is running rampant. I've managed to break this project into three categories: Why you should own your fandom, How to get hard copies, and how to save digital media as an #ethicalpirate.

CURRENTLY READING...

TRAD PUB

I re-read volume 1 of Run Away With Me, Girl by Battan and it packed just as much punch the second time around. I originally read this manga in December of 2022 the day before I went to visit my parents for Christmas (it showed up unexpectedly, me forgetting I pre-ordered it). I meant it start it during my downtime and ended up finishing the whole thing in one sitting. I pre-ordered volume 2 immediately. This story originally ran in a Josei magazine, and it's exaclty what I've been wanting form English-licensed yuri for so long. Not squeaky wholesome, not overly cutesy, but not overly sexual either. It's mature, poignant, and addictive. I can't wait for volume 2!

Moon & Sun

Maybe I've become more forgiving in my old age (or more of a degenerate) but I didn't hate this as much as I did the first time around Still don't care for the story, though. I dislike the main couple as romantic partners and I don't care for them as individuals either. It's super disappointing, too. The idea of a useless yakuza heir being the sugar baby of 6'+ androgynous babe is everything I want on paper. The execution left a lot to be desired.

I noticed the translator used most gender neutral pronouns when referring to Tsubaki. I don't remember if that was the case for the scans I read (back when I did read scans--I'm a changed fujo), but it seemed fitting and I thought it was a nice touch.

WEBTOONS

Jinx by Mingwa (BJ Alex) started a lot of buzz when the first chapter dropped back in November 2022, and not all of it was positive. It's definitely darker and more violent than BJ Alex, but I'm enjoying myself so far.

FANFICTION

It took me way too long, but I finally read Courting Death by theproblematique. Definitely worth the hype. Promptly added to the list of theproblematique works I want to bind.

CURRENTLY WATCHING...

As of January 2023, I have official forced coerced convinced 11 people to watch KinnPorsche.

My friend Mari and I are partaking in a kind of cultural exchange where I show her KinnPorsche and she shows me Genshiken, a 2004 anime about a college otaku club. It certainly feels very 2004—and there's a weird amount of Guilty Gear references throughout—but I really enjoyed it. She asked me to watch the first season before we get to the second season which is apparently focused on a group of fujoshi, so I'm excited for that!

Feel free to keep up with my drama-watching journey by adding me on MyDramaList.

NEATO

Talk about neat things found in January 2023. Articles, posts, TILs, etc.

ON REPEAT

Talk about music enjoyed in January 2023.

1