The horrors persist (but so do the little treats)

9/6/23

Inking, author of Pearl Boy, released a standee of the Toxic Twins for broconnoisseurs everywhere. The standee is a "missing scene" from an iconic moment in the webtoon.

Quarter Century Secret Rare Slifer the Sky Dragon
Pearl Boy Episode Acrylic Stand - Daehui & Dae-Kwang

This piece of merch is a small consolation prize given the twins' official ending. The final chapter was posted just today, but I already know they won't be in it. On one hand, I know them being despicable people (incest aside) meant they would never get a happy ending. On the other hand, why must bad things happen to bad, but sexy, people?

I'm amazed Lezhin let the subtext become text on this one. Not that that the subtext was all that sub to begin with. When I first started reading Pearl Boy I was taken in by the cryptic summary and the gorgeous cover art. The art itself was actually,,, not that captivating in the beginning (it got better almost instantly) and as the premise became clear--a tortured soul who literally cums pearls--I got hooked. As I'm wont to do, my interest started waning and I put off reading it more and more. That is until the Lezhin Twitter account posted caps of the bros naked in bed together. I was pretty much hooked then. I have been on a one-woman campaign to get the BL machine to produce more licensed brocest content, and then these two blood-related murder twins fall right into my lap. I love winning.

So, yeah. The pre-orders for this bad boy went up yesterday at a reasonable 5pm KST, forcing me to set my alarm for 2am so I could snag it the moment the page opened. I have 0 regrets (well, maybe the shipping cost).

Quarter Century Secret Rare Slifer the Sky Dragon
My Beautiful Man Season 2 & - Special Edit Version - Blu-ray Box

In other good news: The My Beautiful Man s2 boxset I ordered is on its way! My Beautiful Man s1 was an unexpected gem that instantly had me hooked. Season 2 introduced new conflicts while still giving that good, old-fashioned toxic obsession I'd fallen in love with. I'm excited to finally have a hard copy of my own to match my s1 boxset. My collection will continue to grow in November when I get the MBM movie Blu-ray. The leaked footage that's come out has made it even harder to wait for it.

All in all, my wallet is lighter but my heart if fuller.


currently listening Trauma by EXO
currently reading Guardian by Priest